President Biden Executive Orders: Removing the Country’s Muslim Travel Ban

On his first day in office on January 20, 2021, President Biden signed 6 immigration Executive Orders, including a revocation of the so-called “Muslim Travel Ban”. The travel ban was enacted in 2017 and restricted travel and immigration to the U.S. from Syria, Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen, before adding Eritrea, Nigeria, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, and Tanzania in 2020. The State Department is also instructed to restart visa applications for these countries.

Persons from some of the above countries were permitted to obtain temporary visas, but not to get green cards to reside in the U.S. and only a very small percentage of visa applicants were granted waivers of the travel ban.

It is expected that the President will be signing many more immigration Executive Orders in the coming days, weeks and months repealing many of President Trump’s anti-immigration policies.

If you should have any questions or need more information about the ways in which the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Laws may impact you, your family, your friends or your colleagues, please contact the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Lawyers at the NPZ Law Group – VISASERVE – U.S. Immigration and Nationality Lawyers by e-mailing us at or by calling us at 201-670-0006 (x104). You can also visit our Law Firm’s website at


Biden Immigration Plan: