DHS Reinstates and Extends Temporary Protected Status for El Salvador, Honduras, Nepal, and Nicaragua

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has reversed a decision by the previous administration to terminate Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations for El Salvador, Honduras, Nepal, and Nicaragua. The TPS designations for these countries have now been extended by 18 months. This decision is relevant to ongoing litigation challenging the earlier termination of the designations. DHS will continue to monitor global conditions to determine if new TPS designations are required.

The TPS extensions provide continued protection for beneficiaries already residing in the U.S., unable to return to their home countries due to environmental disasters. Notices explaining the eligibility criteria, timelines, and procedures for re-registration will be published in the Federal Register. Current TPS beneficiaries can re-register to maintain their TPS during the extension. However, those who arrived in the U.S. after the specific continuous residence dates for these countries are not eligible for TPS and may face removal if they don’t have legal authorization to remain.

DHS has also extended the validity of TPS-related documentation for nationals of the four countries until June 30, 2024, to comply with court orders. Further details regarding each country’s extension will be provided in forthcoming Federal Register Notices.

DHS link: https://www.dhs.gov/news/2023/06/13/dhs-rescinds-prior-administrations-termination-temporary-protected-status