On December 4, 2017, the U.S. Supreme Court issued two orders staying lower courts’ (Maryland & Hawaii) preliminary injunctions of President Trump’s September 24, 2017 presidential proclamation/travel ban. Accordingly, President Trump’s most recent travel ban will go into effect while the appeals are pending. The Supreme Court encouraged the appeals courts to quickly decide whether the most recent travel ban was lawful. The court’s orders mean that the administration can fully enforce its new restrictions on travel from eight nations, six of them predominantly Muslim. For now, most citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Chad and North Korea will be barred from entering the United States, along with some groups of people from Venezuela.

The District Court injunctions did not affect implementation of entry restrictions against nationals from North Korea and Venezuela. Those individuals remain subject to the restrictions and limitations listed in the Presidential Proclamation, which went into effect at 12:01 a.m. eastern time on Wednesday, October 18, 2017, with respect to nationals of those countries.

Nationals of the eight countries are subject to various travel restrictions contained in the Proclamation, as outlined in the following table, subject to exceptions and waivers set forth in the Proclamation.

 Country  Nonimmigrnat Visas  Immigrant and Diversity Visas
 Chad  No B-1, B-2, and B-1/B-2 Visas  No immigrant or diversity visas

No nonimmigrant visas except F, M and J


No immigrant or diversity visas
 Libya  No B-1, B-2, and B-1/B-2 Visas  No immigrant or diversity visas
North Korea  No nonimmigrant visas  No immigrant or diversity visas
 Somalia    No immigrant or diversity visas
 Syria  No nonimmigrant visas  No immigrant or diversity visas
 Venezuel   No B-1, B-2 or B-1/B-2

Attorney Advertising | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy
Website developed in accordance with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1.
If you encounter any issues while using this site, please contact us: 866.599.3625