An Update on the REAL ID Act — Is Your State Compliant?

As of today (January 4, 2018), 3 US States – New York, Michigan & Louisiana – and 2 US Territories – American Samoa & Northern Mariana Islands – remain non-compliant with the Real ID Act requirements and have not received an extension from the Department of Homeland Security which means that, barring any extensions or approvals, travelers from these jurisdictions will need an alternative form of identification such as a current US Passport to board US domestic flights beginning on Jan. 22, 2018.

The REAL ID Act establishes minimum security standards for license issuance and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for certain purposes driver’s licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the Act’s minimum standards. The purposes covered by the Act are: accessing Federal facilities, entering nuclear power plants, and, boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft.

DHS is currently reviewing extension requests from states with extensions that expired on October 10, 2017. DHS will provide further update as these reviews are completed and new extensions are granted. In the meantime, there will be no change in enforcement status for these states. States will have a grace period until January 22, 2018, meaning that Federal agencies (including TSA) will continue to accept driver’s license and identification cards issued by these states in accordance with each agency’s policies.

Click Here to View the “REAL ID Frequently Asked Questions for the Public”.

Please Click Here to View the Current Status of your residing State/Territory under the REAL ID Act.